Information at your Fingertips

TCPL subscribes to numerous databases for the benefit of our library customers. These electronic sources of information are available to all TCPL cardholders.

How to access Database:

Most of our databases are available to you from home. Click on the button to go to the database of your choice. Your user name is your library barcode number, without spaces, and the password is the last 4 digits of your phone number.

If you have any questions concerning a database, please call 429-0113.

Newspaper and Magazine articles

INSPIRE

View Inspire: Indiana’s Online Research Library.

Find full text magazine and newspaper articles or search the holdings of libraries all over the world.

  • Testing and Education Center – with practice exams for GED, SAT, ASVAB, and more!
  • General and Academic Magazines & Journals
  • Student Research Center
  • Biography Resource Center
  • Health Source: Consumer Edition
  • Career Collection
  • National Newspapers
Available Remotely

ProQuest

View Proquest

Access to archives of the Journal and Courier the Indianapolis Star.

  • Journal and Courier: Full Text from Nov. 29, 2002 to present with limited coverage back to 1999.
  • Indianapolis Star: Full Text from May 1991 to present.
Available Remotely

AtoZWorldTravel

A to Z World Travel

Perfect for travelers, A to Z World Travel provides access to an ever expanding list of city and country travel guides. Included in the database are hotel accommodation suggestions, restaurant highlights, maps, travel warnings, weather reports, and currency information.

Available Remotely

Automotive and Do-It-Yourself

View Alldata

Provides a searchable database of repair manual information for most automobiles manufactured from 1982 – 2012. Includes diagrams, technical services bulletins and a lot more.

  Available at the library only

Chilton Car Repair

View ChiltonLibrary.com

Online access to repair, maintenance and service information on the most popular cars, trucks, vans and SUVs back to 1940.

Available remotely

EBSCO Auto Repair Center

View EBSCO Auto Repair Reference Center

View Car care, repair and troubleshooting automobiles back to 1954.

Available remotely

Home Improvement Reference Center

View Home Improvement Reference Center

An online tool to help you with many of your home improvement needs. Includes resources for maintenance, remodeling, electrical work, plumbing, wood projects, outdoor improvements, decorating, home and garden, and more. This databases has 27 major reference works, thousands of images, and over 100 videos for popular home improvement projects. Check it out and get started!

Available remotely

Hobbies and Crafts Information Center

View Hobbies and Craft Reference

Full text for over 900 magazines and more than 700 videos can help you get started on projects for your favorite hobbies, crafts, and recreational activities. Detailed “how-to” instructions will help guide you and give you great creative ideas. Subject areas include arts & crafts, games & electronics, model building, home & leisure, needlework, outdoors & nature, and scrapbooking & papercraft. Explore this database for new ideas.

Available remotely

Business & Legal

Gale Legal Forms

View Gale Legal Forms

Provides a wide selection of state-specific (and multi-state) legal forms across the most popular legal areas. Includes real estate contracts, wills, pre-marital agreements, bankruptcy, divorce, landlord tenant and many others. Also included is a comprehensive attorney state directory and a dictionary of legal definitions explained in laymen’s language.

Available remotely

Indiana Legal Forms

View Indiana Legal Forms

The state of Indiana provides various legal forms in its self service legal center website.

Available remotely.

AtoZ Databases

View AtoZ Databases

Premier Reference and Marketing Database including 30 million business profiles & 220 million residents. Ideal for sales leads, mailing lists, market research, employment opportunities, finding friends and relatives, and much more!

  Available remotely

Value Line

View Value Line

Online access to Value Line‘s leading publications covering stocks, mutual funds, options and convertible securities as well as special situation stocks. Updated weekly.

Available remotely.

Morningstar

View Morningstar

The Morningstar Investment Research Center is an online investment database with information on more than 30,000 stocks, mutual funds, and exchange-traded funds.

Available remotely.

Literature

Bookflix

View Scholastic BookFlix

BookFlix is a online literacy resource that pairs classic video storybooks from Weston Woods with related nonfiction eBooks from Scholastic to build a love of reading and learning. The engaging way to link fact and fiction, BookFlix reinforces early reading skills and introduces children to a world of knowledge and exploration.

Available remotely.

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database

View CLCD

CLCD has more than 900,000 catalog records for children’s literature. These records come with all of the official cataloging data, subject terms, and annotations. In addition, the database contains more than 150,000 critical reviews of thousands of children’s books, ranging from the earliest baby board books to novels and nonfiction for young adults. An average of more than 1,500 new reviews are added to the database monthly.

Available remotely.

LitFinder

View LitFinder

Includes Poem Finder (Full-text, citations, and excerpts), Story Finder (Full-text), Essay Finder (Full-text). Available through Inspire.

Available remotely.

NoveList Plus

View Novelist Plus

A searchable collection of fiction and non-fiction titles with reviews and links to similar titles.

Available remotely.

NoveList K-8 Plus

View NovelList K-8 Plus

A searchable collection of fiction and non-fiction titles with reviews and links to similar titles, aimed at the K-8 age range.

Available remotely.

Tumble Book Library

View TumbleBooks

Over one hundred picture books are animated and read-aloud for you and your child. Follow-along word illumination, games and puzzles, audio book classics, and read-along large-type, regular, and easy reader books are all available for entertainment and learning. Access Spanish, French, Italian, Chinese, and Russian language books for language learning and exploring.

Available remotely.

Science and Education

Ancestry Library Edition

View Ancestry Library Edition

With more than 1.5 billion names in over 4,000 databases, Ancestry Library Edition includes records from the United States Census; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and more! These collections are continuously expanding, with new content added every business day.

Available at library only.

Heritage Quest Online

View HeritageQuest

HeritageQuest is a resource for census data, family records, and local histories. This collection assembles every extant U.S. federal census, family genealogies, local histories, tax lists, city directories, land and probate records, birth, marriage and death records, genealogical and local history serials, and more. An ongoing project (new content is added regularly), HeritageQuest Online will grow to encompass the Periodical Source Index (PERSI), Freedman’s Bank Records, Revolutionary War Pension and Bounty Land Warrant Index, and additional materials.

Available remotely.

Biography in Context

View Biography in Context

Biographies of famous (and not-so-famous) people available through Inspire.

Available remotely.

Testing and Education Reference Center

View Testing and Education Reference Center

This service offers study materials and practice exams for dozens of common standardized tests. Available tests include the SAT, GED, ASVAB, and more. There are also tools for many career entry exams, such as accounting, law enforcement, nursing, and real estate. Includes a resume building and computer skills tutorials.

Available Remotely

Free Permit Practice Tests

View Drivers-Test.org

This service offers study materials and practice exams for dozens of common standardized tests. Available tests include the SAT, GED, ASVAB, and more. There are also tools for many career entry exams, such as accounting, law enforcement, nursing, and real estate. Includes a resume building and computer skills tutorials.

Available Remotely

Chicago Manual of Style

Chicago Manual of Style

Completely searchable and easy to use, The Chicago Manual of Style Online provides recommendations on editorial style and publishing practices for the digital age. Now offering the full contents of the 16th and 15th editions, it is the must-have reference for everyone who works with words.

Available at Library only

View Mango

Mango is an online language-learning system that can help you learn languages like Spanish, French, Japanese, Brazilian Portuguese, German, Mandarin Chinese, Greek, Italian, Russian and more. It also offers several options for English as a second language.

Available Remotely

View ScienceFlix

ScienceFlix lets kids, parents, and educators have fun while exploring science and technology. Learn about scientific fields with articles, videos, and interactive activities. Find out about careers in science, computers, and engineering. Get great ideas for experiments and science projects, and keep up to date with the latest news.

Available Remotely

What Tree Is It?

View What Tree is it?

170 Midwest trees with full-color photos.

Available Remotely

World Book Online

View World Book

World Book

  • Encyclopedia and other reference articles
  • More than 20,000 photos, illustrations, and maps
  • Hundreds of videos
  • Dictionary
  • Atlas
  • Timeline and citation builders
  • Learning activities, quizzes, and print- able worksheets
  • Biography center
  • How to Do Research homework help
  • Current news
  • Editor-approved websites
  • Magazine articles
  Available Remotely

Frequently Asked Questions

For libraries, a ‘database’ is a catch-all name for a sort of specialised website the provides information on a topic. These sites are not part of the regular Internet and require a subscription, which the library pays for. They contain everything from collections of magazine articles to lessons in various languages.

Databases offer materials that are not available on the Internet and many go into much greater depth than websites. Also, their content is managed to insure quality. This means that you can be sure that the health information or auto repair diagrams are coming from an authoritative and reviewed source. If you’re doing research for school, database materials typically count as non-Internet sources when it comes to requirements to have academic or professional sources.

First, click on the name or logo of the database you want to use. If you are in the library, you should automatically be sent to the database’s home page. If you are outside the library, a popup box will ask for a user name (your library card) and a password or PIN (typically the last four digits of your phone number).

Where possible, the library gets subscriptions that include remote access. However, in some cases the provider does not offer that option, or adding it is extremely expensive. Fortunately the vast majority of databases are not limited this way.

Most article databases, such as the Ebsco sources available through Inspire, now have a “Cite” button. When you click this it will offer a pre-written citation in all of the common styles. For other databases, we suggest checking with the Online Writing Lab for guidance.

Most databases allow you to print off the text and images they offer. The newspaper and magazine databases also allow you to save most articles, or even email them to yourself.

For both problems, think about the search terms that you used. You might narrow down the  results by being more specific – for example, if you start with just “floods” try “flood control” or “floods and Indiana”. You can do the reverse if you get too few results. It’s always a good idea to vary your terms a little when doing in-depth research. “Firefighting” and “Fire prevention” will have some overlap but will also have unique articles.

For narrowing down search results further, try using the “limit or refine search” options. You might choose to see articles published within a certain time frame. Do you want only the newest articles, or do you want to see something historical? If you are doing research for a class, your instructor may want only academic or ‘peer reviewed’ articles. There is a check box to show only those.

This comes up sometimes with the magazine and journal databases found on Inspire. Unfortunately, not every article is available with the entire text. This is especially common with advanced academic journals and older volumes of a publication. This is usually because the publisher has not made a full copy available or the material has not yet been digitized. In these cases, only a summary and the citation details such as date and page numbers are shown. To avoid this, click “full text” when doing your search. This option is usually found below the search bar in the box labeled “Search Options”. If you have already done a search, look to the left to find it with the filtering options.

If you really need to get your hands on an article that’s available only as a citation, you can request it using Interlibrary Loan. Just be aware that it can take a week or two for it to arrive, and that some libraries charge fees for scanning or copying.